Scholarship Recipients

Neel Shah and Katelyn Demyan Win ASA’s 2014 Scholarships

The ASA Scholarship Committee is proud to announce that Neel Shah an Electrical and Computer Engineering Sophmore at Northeastern University, Boston, MA has won the 2014 Edward A. O’Connor Jr. Founder’s scholarship, and Katelyn R. Demyan an Aerospace Engineering & Mechanical Engineering student at West Virginia University has won the Rockwell Collins scholarship. They were selected from a field of over 40 applicants and represent excellence for America’s future aerospace engineers.

ASA thanks Rockwell Collins for their generous donation that make these scholarships possible and Tom Hobson for his tireless efforts in support of ASA’s educational programs.

2012 -2013

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2012 ASA Scholarship awards;

  • Mr. Ronald Ho winner of the Edward A. O’Connor – Junior Founders Scholarship
  • Mr. Justin Michael Anderson –  winner of the Rockwell-Collins Scholarship
Justin Anderson with Lt. Governor Kay Ivey

Justin Anderson with Lt. Governor Kay Ivey

2011 -2012

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2011 ASA scholarship awards.

Mr. Robin A. Depto (pictured in photo)
Delaware Technical and Community College; winner of the Edward A. O’Connor Junior Founders Scholarship

Ms. Emily Wolf (photo pending)
The Pennsylvania State University; winner of the Rockwell-Collins Scholarship

Dr. Stephanie Wright

Dr. Stephanie Wright, ASA Education Chair congratulates and then presents Mr. Robin A. Depto, winner of the Edward O’Connor Scholarship, with a check underwritten by Rockwell Collins.

Winners were selected based upon undergraduate major scholarship ability, strength in writing, faculty letter of recommendation, how the applicant articulated their individual path to the Aviation and Aerospace industry and need.  Winners will each receive a $1,500 scholarship when they start school in the fall.

2010 – 2011

Brian Thomas Weinstein, (photo pending)
Case School of Engineering in Cleveland, Ohio
Edward O’Connor scholarship

Jeff Mayfield, (pictured in photo)
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Memphis campus, Tennessee
Rockwell Collins Scholarship

ERAU Student Receives ASA Scholarship

ERAU Student Receives ASA Scholarship

Tara Holloway-Associate Dean Central Region, Robin Colwell- Director, Jeff Mayfield-Scholarship Recipient, and Tom Hobson- Rockwell Collins Senior Manager of Government & Public Affairs

ASA award winner Jeff May- field is pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Professional Aeronautics with ERAU’s Memphis Campus. Tom Hobson from the Aerospace States Association was on hand to present the prestigious Rockwell Collins Scholarship to this ERAU scholar. The presentation took place at the Memphis Campus on July 26, 2010. Faculty, staff , and students were present for the ceremony. The ASA scholarship is available each year, and awarded to a student who is pursuing an aerospace-related education in the scholarship calendar year. The Education Committee of ASA administers the scholarship competition. The ASA delegate/alternate from each member state shall publicize the scholarship through the state’s aerospace-related institutions of higher learning, career centers, and/or other appropriate entities. ERAU Memphis student Jeff May- field received a $1,500 scholarship from the Aerospace States Association.

2009 – 2010

Darin Hoover and Dustin Tardiff, Scholarship Recipients

Darin Hoover, Scholarship Recipient
Dustin Tardiff, Scholarship Recipient

October 9, 2009 the Aerospace States Association Awarded two Scholarships for 2009. Iowa Lt. Governor Patty Judge made the keynote address and presentation at the University of Iowa College of Engineering’s Awards Luncheon. A photo taken at the event is shown above. Individuals in the photo are Left to Right; Barry Butler, Dean, University of Iowa College of Engineering, Darin Hoover, Scholarship Recipient, Iowa Lt. Gov Patty Judge, Dustin Tardiff, Scholarship Recipient, Robert K (Kelly) Ortberg, Rockwell Collins Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer Commercial Systems, Tom Hobson, Rockwell Collins Senior Manager of Government & Public Affairs.

2008 – 2009

Jenna Rettenmayer

Jenna Rettenmayer

 2007 – 2008

Kevin Volkening

Kevin Volkening

2006 – 2007

Anthony L. Frazier

Anthony L. Frazier, Virginia Commonwealth University

Click here to download a PDF of Anthony Fazier’s thank you letter to the Aerospace States Association